Transport for London’s Michele Dix leads infrastructure names in New Year Honours

Transport for London managing director for planning Michele Dix led a host of infrastructure names honoured by the Queen in the 2015 New Year Honours list.

Dix was awarded a CBE after 15 years at the heart of the capital’s transport system, a role which started in 2000 with the hugely successful congestion charge zone. She now leads all planning strategy on the future transport needs of London and coordination of the implementation of local plans and borough partnerships, and development of future major schemes.

Also honoured with CBE were three contracting bosses; Costain chief executive Andrew Wyllie, BAM Nuttall chief executive Steve Fox, and former Kier chief executive Paul Sheffield who is now managing director of Laing O’Rourke’s European Hub.

Sustainable design guru Jane Wernick, the engineer behind iconic structures such as the Kew Treetop Walk and Rainham Trackway was also awarded a CBE while former Arup designer Cecil Balmond, a creative force behind the annual Serpentine Gallery until 2010 was awarded OBE.

WSP Group engineer Claire Gott, Design Package Manager on the London Bridge Project and founder of development charity Cameroon Catalyst was awarded an MBE.

The list of 2015 infrastructure awards included:


Trevor Graham Baylis, O.B.E., Inventor and Founder, Trevor Baylis Brands plc. For services to Intellectual Property.

Dr. Michele Dix, Managing Director, Planning, Transport for London. For services to the Transport Industry.

Stephen Charles Fox, Chief Executive, BAM Nuttall. For services to Civil Engineering and Construction.

David Fraser Middleton, Chief Executive, Transport Scotland. For services to the Civil Service and Transport in Scotland.

Denis Kevin Myers, Deputy Chief Executive, Health and Safety Executive. For services to Health and Safety.

Stephen Quartermain, Chief Planner, Department for Communities and Local Government. For services to Planning Infrastructure.

Professor Peter Wynne Rees, lately City Planning Officer, City of London Corporation. For services to Architecture and Town Planning.

Michael Paul Sheffield, lately Group Chief Executive Officer, Kier Group plc. For services to Civil Engineering, Construction and Charitable Fundraising.

Ms Jane Melville Wernick, Jane Wernick Associates Ltd. For services to Structural and Civil Engineering.

Andrew Wyllie, Chief Executive, Costain. For services to Construction and Engineering.


Cecil Balmond, Architect. For services to Architecture.

Rodney John Bennion, lately Chair of Trustees, Construction Youth Trust. For services to Construction Training and the community in the South East.

Dr. Sarah Buck, Fellow, Institution of Structural Engineers and Director, BSW Consulting, Exeter. For services to Engineering and Education.

Matthew Shackleton Chinn, Managing Director, Energy Sector, Siemens plc. For services to the UK Renewable Energy Industry.

Professor Paul Ekins, Director and Professor of Resources and Environment Policy, UCL Institute for Sustainable Resources. Services to Environmental Policy.

Wendy, Mrs. Kennedy, Head, Offshore Oil and Gas Environment and Decommissioning, Department of Energy and Climate Change. For services to the Oil and Gas Industry.

Andrew Brett Milligan, lately Board Member, Technology Strategy Board and Head of Global Strategy, Standard Life Investments. For services to Innovation and the Economy.

Professor Sarah Katherine Spurgeon, Professor of Control Engineering, University of Kent. For services to Engineering.

David John Ward, Route Managing Director, South East, Network Rail. For services to the Rail Industry.


Jason Peter Anker, Director, Jason Anker Live Ltd. For services to Health and Safety in the Construction Industry.

Henry Anthony Armstrong, Engineering Technician, Department for Regional Development, Northern Ireland Executive. For services to Transport and charitable fundraising.

Neil Dennis Baldwin. For services to the Nuclear Industry, particularly Civil Nuclear Engineering and Decommissioning.

Diana Kay Mrs. Fergus, Senior Executive Officer, Affordable Housing Regulation and Investment, Department for Communities and Local Government. For services to Housing.

Ms Claire Louise Gott, Design Package Manager, WSP UK. For services to Civil Engineering and charitable services in Cameroon.

Patrick Hallgate, Route Managing Director, Western, Network Rail. For services to the Economy in the South West.

Dr. Barbara Hammond, Chief Executive, Low Carbon Hub. For services to Community Energy Development, particularly in Oxfordshire.

Ms Mary Elizabeth Male, Non-Executive Chair, TrustMark. For services to the Construction Industry and Consumer Protection.

Miss Katherine Mary Powley, County Network Coordinator and Streetworks Manager, Oxfordshire County Council. For services to the community in Oxfordshire.

Barry Michael Russell, Flood Risk Management Specialist, Environment Agency. For services to Flood Risk Management.

Ann-Marie, Mrs. Smale. (Chair of CIC Wales). For services to Education and Training in the Construction Sector in Wales.

Michael Thomas Till, Operations Manager, Carbon Capture Pilot Plant, Ferrybridge. For services to the Energy Sector and to the community in Castleford.


Catherine Fiona, Mrs. Woolf, C.B.E., lately Lord Mayor of London. For services to the Legal Profession, Diversity and the City of London.


Anthony Richard Perry, Flood and Coastal Risk Manager, Environment Agency. For services to the Environment and Flood Risk Management and to the community.

Stephen Stamp, Operations Team Leader, Environment Agency. For services to the Environment and Flood Risk Management.

If you would like to contact Antony Oliver about this, or any other story, please email